2023 guber: Ex Enugu Perm Sec wants Nsukka zone to start a fresh rotation

By: Chiadikobi Ozor

Former Permanent Secretary, Government House Enugu, Chief Peter Odo, has opened up on what he called evidence-based template for the governance of Enugu State.

Chief Odo an interview with journalists noted that the old Anambra state, from which Enugu State was created, had five senatorial zones made up of Awka, Onitsha, Enugu, Nsukka and Abakaliki senatorial zones before the creation of Enugu State in 1991. Later Abakaliki was removed from Enugu State to form Ebonyi State.

He said that the two remaining zones of Enugu and Nsukka in the State was gerrymandered into Enugu East, Enugu West and Enugu North senatorial zones with 17 local government areas.

” It can be seen from available record that in the present Enugu State the old Enugu senatorial zone produced the governor for 16 unbroken years (1999 — 2015) in the persons of Sen. Chimaroke Nnamani (1999 —2007) and Sullivan Chime (2007 — 2015). It can therefore be argued that old Nsukka senatorial zone is also entitled to 16 years without interruption to strike a balance between the old political zones of the state” he said.

See also  Plot to prosecute Senator Kalu part of gang up against Igbo Presidency - Ohanaeze

He further stated that using the parameters of Federal Constituency that Enugu State has eight federal constituencies which includes Enugu North and Enugu South; Nkanu East and Nkanu West; Enugu East and Isi-Uzo(Enugu North Senatorial Zone); Udi and Ezeagu; Aninri, Awgu and Oji River (Enugu West Senatorial Zone); and Igbo- Eze North and Udenu; Igbo Etiti and Uzo Uwani; Nsukka and Igbo-Eze South (Enugu North Senatorial zone ) Federal Constituencies.

He further said that only two out of the eight federal constituencies of Enugu East/Isi Uzo; and Nsukka/Igbo Eze South have never occupied the Lion Building of the state while the rest six had at one time or the other occupied the exalted House in the persons of Sentor Jim Nwobodo( Enugu North/Enugu South), Chief C.C Onoh(Enugu North/Enugu South), Allison Madueke(Aninri/Awgu/Oji River), Dr Okwesilieze Nwodo(Igbo Etiti/Uzo Uwani), Dr. Chimaroke Nnamani(Nkanu West/Nkanu East), Sullivan Chime(Udi/Ezeagu)Rt. Hon.Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi the incumbent governor of the state(Igbo Eze North/Udenu).

See also  Anambra guber: INEC has no locus to disqualify APGA from Nov 6 polls - Obiokoye

Chief Odo (aka Agu n’ eche Oha) noted ” another permutation borders on equity, fairplay and good conscience in sharing. It’s normal for the last to take first in the second round which is obtainable even at family level and traditional arena. Enugu North took last at the first round and should be allowed to take first in second round then to Enugu West and Enugu East zones.

He noted that for the few years Nsukka zone had the mantle of governance, it has been a one-legged race, Dr. Okwesilieze Nwodo occupied the lion building for less than two years under a military regimen and almost had no power and will of his own. In the present dispensation, there is absence of symbiotic political alignment and apurtenant benefits due to the dislocation of party affiliations between the center and State. For the past 16 years old Enugu was at the helm of affairs in the state, it produced Ministers, Senate President, Deputy Senate President, Vice Chancellors University of Nigeria Nsukka, Federal Permanent Secretary among other top Board appointments and positions at the federal level which attracted massive infrastrucral development of the areas that produced the Governor , he said.

See also  Ondo ex-deputy gov, Ajayi finally returns vehicles to govt

The erstwhile Permanent Secretary of Enugu State Government House while applauding Governor Ifeanyi Ugwuanyi’s leadership style said that if not for the ingenuity of the Ugwuanyi administration it would look like old Nsukka zone is not in power as it is deprived, underprivileged and disadvantaged.
The political permutation and combinations of governance from the old to the new zones favours only two federal constituencies Nsukka/ Igboeze South and Isi-Uzo/ Enugu East based on equity, transparency and fairness..
He however noted that power is taken and not given while sloganeering from morning till night: Ka Enugu East Jee; Ka Isi Uzo Jee; Ka Nsukka Jee or Ka Igbo Eze South Jee may amount to nothing without a well articulated agenda and a robust display of capacity to govern.

Recommended For You

About the Author: Everydaynewsngr

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *