APC kicks as PDP wins Delta Assembly bye-election


The Independent National Electoral Commission has declared the candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Jude Ogbimi, winner of the Isoko North Constituency bye-election.

The State House of Assembly by-election was conducted on Saturday, April 10th, 2021, following the the death of former Majority Leader, Hon. Tim Owhefere.

According to INEC, eleven political parties contested in the Assembly bye-election.

Announcing the result on Sunday, the Returning Officer, Prof. Christopher Onosemuode of the Federal University of Petroleum Resources Effurun, said gbimi scored 29, 421 votes to defeat the candidate of All progressives congress, Mr. Emmanuel Tabuko, who polled 2,543 and others.

He said the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Emmanuel Tabuko, scored 2,543 votes to emerge second while the candidate of the ADP, Agose Ogagaoghene, came third with 66 votes.

 “I, Prof. Christopher Onosemuode of the Federal University of Petroleum Resources, FUPRE, Effurun, Delta State, hereby declare that Mr Jude Ogbimi of the PDP having scored the highest number of valid votes is hereby declared winner of the Isoko North Constituency by-election,” he declared

Meanwhile, the APC Publicity Secretary (caretaker), Sylvester Imonina, had accused PDP of sabotagging the sanctity of ballots at the poll.

But in a swift reaction, the Publicity Secretary of the PDP, Dr. Ifeanyi Osuoza, dismissed the allegation, describing it as the usual and expected accusation of a party.

He said APC was never serious and completely lacked preparation for any election in the state.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here